Banana French Toast

IMG_7794

I love french toast. It reminds me of my first trip to New York with my dad when I was 13. I was introduced to the world of real breakfasts, like the New Yorkers do it. I must have had French Toast almost every day while I was there- with bacon, berries, banana, cream, you name it! It didn’t matter whether we went to a dingy looking neighbourhood cafe or the best restaurant in town, the breakfasts never seemed to disappoint. There’s a real buzz about breakfast in New York too, everywhere is jammed (in a good way) and there’s type of chaos that makes the city’s morning ritual even more exciting. The suspense of opening up those massive menu’s that are larger than the table and trying to decide on just one dish, how can you not love New York!

There is something so decadent and indulgent about french toast. It feels very fancy, and for that reason I don’t make it very often. On a summer day, I think it is the perfect splurge breakfast. While I was eating this I was imagining it with some extra crispy bacon, and that is what I will be adding next time I make it. Now, the trick with french toast is to get the best bread possible, one that you have to cut yourself so you can get a nice thick slice.

IMG_7799

Ingredients (makes 1 portion):

Butter, for frying

2 slices of bread

1 egg

70ml milk

1 banana, sliced

1 heaped tablespoon honey

1/2 orange, squeezed

More honey or maple syrup to serve

Method:

Beat the egg with the milk and soak the 2 slices of bread until they have absorbed all of the mixture.

Melt the butter in a nonstick pan and fry the bread for about 3 minutes on each side until golden. Leave aside in the oven.

Add the banana to the pan and leave to turn golden for about a minute, then add the honey and orange juice. Toss around until the liquid has turned to a syrup, which only takes about 2 minutes. Pour this over the toast.

Serve with some extra honey or maple syrup drizzled over the top, and some bacon if you’re feeling a bit wild.

IMG_7797