When Life Brings Lemons… Make the Ultimate Lemon Drizzle Cake!

IMG_7671

I have finally made my return to the blogosphere! For the last few months I have been quite unwell, but alas I am on the mend. Due to the fact that I’ve been diagnosed with an autoimmune disease, I have been under strict instructions to “watch my diet”, which is a foodie’s worst nightmare! I’ve been spending a lot of time researching diet and autoimmune disease, and it seems I will have to make some pretty drastic changes to my diet, which I will discuss in a later post, but for now I am going to comfort myself with a lovely lemon drizzle cake and stay in my cave of denial!

Lemon is one of my favourite flavours, so I decided to make this delicious lemon drizzle cake (tried and tested based on Delia Smith’s recipe). When life give you lemons, eat cake!

IMG_7743

Ingredients

Cake:

200g self raising flour

1tsp Baking Powder

200g Caster Sugar

200g Butter

4 eggs

2 tbsp Milk

Grated zest of 1 Lemon

Lemon Curd:

Zest and Juice of 1 1/2 Lemons

110g Caster Sugar

3 Eggs

75g Butter

Drizzle:

80g Caster Sugar

Juice of 1 1/2 Lemons

Method

First make the lemon curd: place the grated lemon zest and sugar in a bowl, whisk the lemon juice together with the eggs, and pour this over the sugar.

Next add the butter cut into small pieces, and place the bowl over a pan of barely simmering water (making sure the bowl does not touch the water). Whisk every now and then until thickened, which should take about 20 minutes. Leave it on one side to cool.

To make the cake, sift the flour into a large bowl and then simply mix in all other ingredients until smooth.

Divide between two 20cm cake tins and bake at 170 degrees for 25 mins.

While the cake is cooling in the tin, mix together the lemon juice and sugar and drizzle this over the cakes. You might think it will be too wet but it won’t be. When completely cold remove and sandwich together with the lemon curd. I used a basic icing for this cake but you could simply just dust with some icing sugar.