Lunchbox Idea #1: Tasty Quinoa Salad with Creamy Avocado Dressing

I like to make the effort to bring my own lunch into work at least once or two times each week. It costs so much to eat out every day and let’s be honest, it’s not the healthiest either. I’ve decided to start sharing quick and healthy lunchbox ideas and this is my first one! This week I’ve really got a taste for the summer, so I was in the mood for this fresh and healthy quinoa salad. I live for the days when I can laze in the park for lunch and something like this world be perfect for those sunny afternoons! Quinoa is probably my favourite grain to eat cold, I find it has a good nutty flavour and texture and it is a complete protein so it will keep the hunger at bay until dinner. This can be made the night before and stored in the fridge (keeping the dressing seperate) for 2-3 days. Try adding some rocket or spinach leaves and any other leftover veggies so you don’t get bored eating the same thing a few days in a row. The dressing I’ve made is mainly avocado so it is full of flavour and deliciously creamy. This recipe makes 3 big lunches.

ImageIngredients:

Salad

150g Quinoa

1 Red Pepper

Half a Courgette

A handful of mushrooms

Feta Cheese

Dressing

1/2 Avocado

Juice of 1/2 Lemon

1 tsp pesto

2 tbsp Olive Oil

2 tbsp Water

Image

Method:

Chop the courgette and mushroom into small pieces. Place on a baking tray along with the whole pepper, drizzle with olive oil and bake for 10 minutes at 220 °C. Remove the courgette and mushroom and keep baking the pepper for a further 15 minutes.

Meanwhile, cook the quinoa according to instructions on the packet (usually about 15 minutes).

When the pepper is completely soft (its okay if its burnt looking), remove the skin and chop.

Mix all of the ingredients together and top with the feta cheese.

Now to make the dressing mash up the avocado and add all other ingredients, seasoning to taste.

Enjoy 🙂